IN THE PAYS D’OLT
Entraygues-sur-Truyère is a character village nestled between the Lot and the Truyère Valleys, with its medieval remains, ancient streets and alleys winding their way through the village, half-timbered houses dating from the 15th and 17th centuries, its château and 13th century bridges.
A little bit of history…
Entraygues-sur-Truyère is located at the confluence of the Lot and Truyère rivers, ‘between the waters’, as its name implies in the Occitan language. Two bridges allow you to cross these rivers to which the etymology of the town is indebted: the Truyère Bridge (end of the 13th century) and the Notre-Dame Bridge on the River Lot.
This is how wine, rye and cheese were transported down the river to Cahors and how cod was transported by barge from Bordeaux, giving rise to the dish Estofinado.
However, the market town has retained its narrow, medieval streets: covered passageways, ‘cantou’ inglenook fireplaces, houses dating from the 15th and 17th centuries and Notre-Dame-du-Pontet Chapel.
Entraygues-sur-Truyère was visited by Louis XI, who stayed there before his battle against the Count of Armagnac.
The village was founded in the middle of the 13th century (between 1278 and 1290), at the time when Henri II, Count of Rodez, built the château.
Entraygues-sur-Truyère was fortified in 1357. Today, only two square towers with machicolations remain, from a total of 213 towers which were connected by ramparts and surrounded by moats, as well as a main building restored in the 17th century.
Entraygues therefore represents a strategic location at a crossroads of communication routes, where the roads to the Auvergne and the Lot Valley meet.
For a significant part of the year, the waters of the Lot were increased by those of the Truyère river, which facilitated trade with other areas bordering the Lot Valley…